Canterbury Park, Shakopee, Minn logo

Natasha Coddington: Q & A with a Canterbury Jockey

Natasha Coddington 2016 CBY

By: Megan Johnson

Originally from Seattle, Washington, Natasha Coddington is one of four female jockeys at Canterbury Park. This is Natasha’s first season at Canterbury but she has been riding races since 2012 and has won multiple stakes races. She has had more than 1,200 career starts and 126 wins, giving her $1,851,542 in earnings.

Q: How did you become interested in riding?
A: My uncle used to ride and gallop for a long time so he brought me out to a farm when I was about 15 and got me on a horse. That’s when I decided I wanted to ride so about a year after he took me under his wing and taught me a lot.

Q: When did you start riding in races?
A: I started grooming and galloping at the racetrack, but I’ve been riding races for four years now.

Q: What other tracks have you ridden at?
A: I rode my first races at Remington but I’ve also raced in Maryland, Phoenix and now here.

Q: What’s the biggest lesson riding has taught you?
A: Have thick skin. There’s a lot of criticism that comes with this game.

Q: What’s your favorite memory of racing?
A: I won my first stake race this winter in Phoenix and then I ended up winning the Hasta La Vista Handicap at Turf Paradise, which is the last race of the season there on the same horse.

Q: How has your time at Canterbury been this summer?
A: This is my first year here and I really like it. I’ve taken a little break from riding and I’ve been mainly galloping for Diodoro, but I’ve been riding some races here and there. I’m really looking forward to getting back to riding fulltime this winter and hopefully fulltime here next summer.

Q: Is there anything you do in particular to help you prepare before a race?
A: I read the form and try to handicap my race. I’ll also watch the replays of the horses I ride. Other than that I just try to relax.

Q: Do you have any goals you hope to achieve in the near future?
A: I’d like to be in the top standings in Phoenix this winter.

Q: What’s something new you would like to learn how to do?
A: I have a small fear of jumping horses but I think I’d like to try to learn.

Q: What’s your favorite type of music?
A: I like rock music and my favorite band is AC/DC but I’ve gotten into country music since being on the track.

Q: When you’re not at the racetrack what do you like to do?
A: I’m in a bowling league but otherwise I like to just spend time with my friends and my dog.

Q: What’s your favorite type of food?
A: I love seafood.

Game Type Tables Waiting
8-16 Kill Holdem21
10-20 Omaha-812
2-100 SL Holdem04
3-6 Kill Holdem02
20-40 Holdem01
40-80 Holdem01
50-100 Holdem01