Canterbury Park, Shakopee, Minn logo
Horseplayer of the year, handicapper, 2019, Canterbury Park

Morning Line for Canterbury Park’s 2019 Handicapper of the Year

As The Oracle (Bruce Meyer) turned in another stellar performance to become 2018 Handicapper of the Year at Canterbury Park, eyes are turning toward 2019 and who could claim the coveted title. With five HOY belts already, Meyer is the early favorite.

“It’s a competitive field every year,” said Jeff Maday, handicapping contest coordinator for Canterbury Park. “But it will be interesting to see who gets hot, or stays hot, to win our contests and earn those HOY points throughout 2019.”

List of Current Handicapping Contests

There are contests offered weekly so keep an eye on the Racing Promotions webpage for upcoming events.

Oddsmakers in the Racebook at Canterbury Park have produced  a “Morning Line” for 2019 Canterbury Park Handicapper of the Year. Many of the names will be familiar to those who compete in the regular contests.

2019 HOY Morning Line

• Bruce Meyer – 3-1

Reigning HOY champion.

• Mike Ferrozzo – 7-2

Former HOY champion with a national tournament reputation. Vows to focus on HOY in 2019.

• Terry Severson – 10-1

A threat in any handicapping contest entered.

• Ron White – 10-1

Best contest player never to win the HOY.

• Andrew Zabowski – 15-1

2018 was first year playing contests. He focused on HOY in second half of year and finished second.

• Hassan Entry – 15-1

Sleeper pick but strong competitor. Ray won the title in 2013.

• Pamela Kight – 20-1

Consistent player who flies under the radar.

• Dave Handeland – 50-1

Speed and fade in 2018.

• Field – 6-1

Looking Ahead

The 2018 Handicapper of the Year title came down to the final weekend, but Meyer already has a leg up on the 2019 competition, having secured a HOY point after winning the first Horse Player World Series Super Satellite contest.

There are plenty of opportunities for horseplayers to earn points toward the $2,000 HOY prize, including the upcoming $25,000 Road to Kentucky contest. The annual free-to-enter contest will this season reward one player with entry to the $3 million National Horseplayers Championship in 2020.

“The Oracle is a tough customer. He’s the favorite for the 2019 Handicapper of the Year award,” Maday said. “Still, it’s anybody’s game. In 2018 it came down to the final contest with several players in the mix. We’ll have to see how things unfold in the months ahead.”