Canterbury Park, Shakopee, Minn logo

Kari Craddock: Back at Canterbury after 20 Years

Kari Craddock

After 20 years, trainer Kari Craddock decided to return to Canterbury for another summer meet. Kari started training in 1985 and has been actively involved in the sport. She currently has 24 horses at Canterbury and will be taking them to Remington in August, but she will be back for another season next year and is encouraging other trainers to give Canterbury a try as well!

Q: Where have you been racing for the past 20 years?
A: Since I left Canterbury I’ve been racing in Texas and Oklahoma. When they opened up racing pari-mutuel in Texas, I stayed there.

Q: How did you get started in racing?
A: I got my trainers license in Montana in 1985, but I worked for Randy Bradshaw under D. Wayne Lukas at Canterbury. I worked two summers here for them and then I went out on my own and I had horses here for several years in the back rows.

Q: What brought you back to Canterbury this year and how has it been?
A: Texas hasn’t been doing too good so I thought this was the year to come back and I’m glad I did because it’s been a wonderful summer. It’s been nice to come up for the summer and my crew and I have really enjoyed it. We plan on being back next year with even more thoroughbreds.

Q: What’s the biggest lesson training has taught you?
A:  To be honest with your owners. Honesty is the best policy. You need to be upfront with what’s happening with the horses and they’ll follow you around forever.

Q: How many horses do you have in your barn this meet?
A: I currently have 24 thoroughbreds here but that will go up to 36 when I go to Remington for the fall meet. Most of my horses are either Mexican or Oklahoma bred.

Q: What’s been your favorite part of this meet so far?
A: Our three-year-old, Mav Master, ran a nice allowance race against the older horses, that’s my highlight this summer. We’ve also had a couple horses claimed as well and it’s always nice to sell horses.

Q: What is the reason you continue to train?
A: I just like the life of horse racing. I like moving every four months, working with the horses, the other individuals that work with horses are usually great people. You really have to love this business if you’re going to put all this time and energy into it. It has to be something you really enjoy.

Q: How do you spend your time when you’re not racing?
A: I like going to the gym and going to the mall. I also enjoy going to shows and concerts, I try to have a life off of the track.

Q: What’s your favorite type of food?
A: Italian. I enjoy a good Italian meal.

Q: Where is one place you want to travel to that you haven’t been to yet?
A: The list is long. I’m going to an island off of Spain called Majorca this fall. Next summer I’m going to Ireland for horseback riding in the countryside. I love to travel and take two weeks out of the year to get away and take a break.