Canterbury Park, Shakopee, Minn logo

Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Canterbury Park Hall of Fame committee today announced the class of 2011. Honored in an Aug. 6 ceremony will be: thoroughbred breeders Jeff and Deb Hilger of Stillwater, thoroughbred trainer Mac Robertson, quarter horse trainer Ed Ross Hardy, jockey Derek Bell, and Minnesota-bred thoroughbred Sir Tricky. These inductees join a group of more than forty individuals and horses that comprise the best of Minnesota racing.

The Hilgers operate Bleu Valley Farm in May Township near Stillwater, MN, where they have bred several stakes winners. The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association named them Minnesota’s Outstanding Breeder four times. Hilger horses have won the Canterbury Horse of the Year award twice, in 2000 with Bleu Victoriate and in 2009 with Chick Fight. Jeff also has served as director and vice president of the Minnesota HBPA board.

Mac Robertson has been the leading thoroughbred trainer the past six seasons. He holds records for both single-season and all-time in-the-money percentages, all-time win percentage, and single-season earnings.

Ed Ross Hardy has been the leading American Quarter Horse trainer the past nine seasons and 10 times overall. He is the historical leader in both earnings and wins.

Derek Bell has won six riding titles at Canterbury, more than any other jockey. He is the single-season and all-time leader in earnings and also holds the single-season records for win and in-the-money percentages.

Sir Tricky was bred in Minnesota by William Hobbs and foaled in 2001. For the final five years of his career, which ended with a win in the 2010 Minnesota Turf Championship, Sir Tricky was trained by Robertson and owned by Barry and Joni Butzow of Eden Prairie, MN. By the sire Sir Cat, he won seven stakes at Canterbury Park including the 10,000 Lakes (twice), the Blair’s Cove and the Minnesota Sprint Championship. His earnings of $315,633 at Canterbury is second on the all-time list. He won 12 times at Canterbury.

The Canterbury Hall of Fame was founded in 1995 to recognize people and horses that have made important and lasting contributions to the racing industry within the state. The selection committee consists of representatives of local horsemen organizations, local media, and Canterbury Park.